ConnectABILITY Homepage

Looking for a Supportive Roommate

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #29354

      Supportive Roommate: The role is for a responsible roommate to provide some light support to an outgoing young man with Down syndrome (James) who would like to stretch his independence skills. He is looking for a sociable and tolerant person who is interested in sharing his home with him and has a sense of fun and friendship. Ideally, he would like someone under the age of 35, to avoid the sense of a “parent replacement”.

      The Support: In collaboration, we will create a plan for you to provide roughly 10 hours of support per week, in addition to your overnight presence. Examples would be to make sure his pill box is filled weekly, that his phone is charged, that he doesn’t forget to do his laundry and other chores, and that he doesn’t sleep through his alarm (this has never actually happened), and to arrange a couple of shared dinners or social activities per week. Vacation weeks and a minimum of one weekend off per month will be arranged.

      The Rooms: a new semi-private apartment in Dufferin Grove neighbourhood. These basement rooms have 8’ ceilings, several windows and a heated floor, with a private bathroom, bedroom, and living space. There is a shared kitchen and additional common area space on the main floor. There is laundry in the house, a large yard, and a back patio with a BBQ.

      The Atmosphere: This is a warm and vibrant house with a large yard on a friendly street. Friends and neighbours are likely to drop in on the main floor (not in your private rooms) from time to time.

      The Location: The house is on a residential street in the Dufferin Grove neighoburhoods, only a two-minute walk to both Dufferin Station subway line and Dufferin Grove park, the Gladstone Library, and the Dufferin Mall. There is lots of convenient shopping, restaurants, etc.

      The Cost/Compensation: The rooms are $1,500 per month but will be discounted to $750 to compensate you for the support you provide (10 hours per week). Rent includes utilities, internet, and a monthly cleaning service. * In time, an additional peer roommate may provide an additional discount to the rent as compensation for additional assistance.*

      The Commitment: Life happens, but we are hoping for a two+ year commitment.

      When: Have been assuming a September start but could be sooner.

      Living in the House: Currently, there is one young adult man (24 years) with Down syndrome who goes to work during the day and is often out in the evenings at activities such as Special Olympics sports and cooking class. James likes music, karaoke, video games, cooking shows, and watching TV with friends. He likes doing his own shopping on Bloor street. In the future, there may be another peer roommate with compatible abilities, and this may create a greater discount to the rent.

      If you are interested, please send an email to

      Feel free to circulate this posting in your networks, or to contact me (Andrea) at the above email to ask questions or give feedback.

      • This topic was modified 1 year, 2 months ago by Jason.
    Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
    • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.